SRUC

SRUC is committed to the promotion of equal opportunities and we welcome applications from prospective students with additional needs. As with all applications, the overriding criteria in the selection process will be the applicant's ability to fulfill the academic requirements and benefit from the course.

Our aim is to provide a supportive environment in which our facilities will be as accessible as possible, within the available resources. The College recognises that a number of students starting courses each year may have additional needs in categories such as:

  • Blind or partially sighted
  • Deaf or hearing difficulties
  • Mobility
  • Health
  • Mental health
  • Dyslexia
  • Dyspraxia
  • Autistic Spectrum Disorder
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder  

Students who may require additional support during their time at SRUC are warmly encouraged to discuss their needs with their campuses Study Support staff at the earliest opportunity (see contact details below). You will find the College's attitude and response positive and friendly. An interview can be arranged in order to identify your individual needs and assess any adjustments and support you may require.

SRUC can also assist with the process of applying for additional financial help under the Disabled Students Allowance (DSA). The  DSA can provide equipment including computers and software, personal help such as scribes or readers, mentors, study support or transport costs.

If we are aware of your needs we will help provide the appropriate support to allow you to fulfill your potential during your studies at SRUC. Any queries about DSA support or needs assessments (including dyslexia screening) should be directed to the contacts below. Copies of SRUC's Equality & Diversity policy are available in the library.

Study Support campus contacts:

Aberdeen Campus – Amy Ronald, Study Support Tutor/Needs Assessor 01224 711192 amy.ronald@sruc.ac.uk, Kate Wrigglesworth, Study Support Tutor 01334 711263 kate.wrigglesworth@sruc.ac.uk

Ayr Campus – Joy Kendall, Study Support Tutor 01292 525031 joy.kendall@sruc.ac.uk

Barony Campus - Gillian Conley, Additional Support & Core Skills Lecturer 01387 860251 gillian.conley@sruc.ac.uk

Edinburgh Campus – Puja Parbhaker, Study Support Tutor 0131 535 4435 puja.parbhaker@sruc.ac.uk

Elmwood Campus – Nikki McIntosh, Elmwood Learning Support Lecturer 01334 658982 nikki.mcIntosh@sruc.ac.uk#

Oatridge Campus – Janet Lingard, Learning Support Tutor 01506 864800 janet.lingard@sruc.ac.uk

Please also visit the information on the ESOL page if this is of relevance.

Find out more about studying at SRUC

Fees and funding

Funding is available to help you complete your studies, including bursaries to pay your tuition fees and loans to help with maintenance and travel costs.

Fees and funding

Open days

Although our campuses are currently closed, you can still find out about life and learning at SRUC by joining one of our virtual open days. You will be taken to our old website to make your booking.

Book onto an open day

Download our prospectus

Find out more about all of the courses we have on offer at SRUC.

Download a prospectus

Send us a message

Use the form below to get in touch and we'll get back to you right away.